Fun, fun, fun

Most of you probably don’t know about my beadmaking history.  There’s no reason you should but I’m going to tell you.  Hold on to your hats.  They might fall off when you fall asleep.  LOL

I started lampworking probably 8 years ago.  I took a reasonably bad 4 hour class on a HotHead.  I fell in love with it and didn’t do anything for 2 years.  Two years later I took a two day class with Jeri Warhaftig at Bead and Button.  It was a revelation!  And I still didn’t do anything afterwards.  The following year I took a bunch of classes at Bead and Button and then eventually found a place I could torch.  Since then I’ve torched once or twice a month–occasionally less and rarely more.  I’ve slowly gotten better but DH and I have had this running battle about me setting up a torch in the house.  Well, a year ago we made a deal and I haven’t managed to fulfill my part of the bargain yet so no torch set up still.

Well, I finally decided I’d had it.  I have a Minor, a Bobcat and a Hothead.  I told him I was going to set the Hothead up outside and torch this summer.  I got all the stuff I needed and have it set up on the deck outside.  Boy, I never thought I’d complain about torching but I’m having a terrible time with this torch!  I’m used to a MiniCC and this is a HUGELY different torch.  Boy, is it ever!  But it’s starting to come together for me and I’m having a lot of fun.

And I can’t wait until Open Torch at BlueFire Beads so I can use a Mini again.  🙂

Leave a Reply

